New funding for Limerick sport and physical activity projects

first_imgPredictions on the future of learning discussed at Limerick Lifelong Learning Festival Advertisement WATCH: “Everyone is fighting so hard to get on” – Pat Ryan on competitive camogie squads Print Limerick Artist ‘Willzee’ releases new Music Video – “A Dream of Peace” Linkedin Limerick Ladies National Football League opener to be streamed live Facebook WhatsApp €53,333 in funding has been allocated to sport and physical activity projects in Limerick through the Dormant Accounts Fund.The allocation includes €35,000 for the further development of the community sport and physical activity hub in Croom; €13,333 for the Limerick Community Coaching Programme and €5,000 for the Youth Leadership Programme.The investment is part of a €2.9 million fund to support National Physical Activity Plan measures for disadvantaged communities which will be administered by Sport Ireland.Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter Sign Up Limerick Sports Partnership (LSP) will continue the development of the community sport and physical activity hub in Croom in conjunction with the local Development Association.The Croom Community Centre has been developed as a hub for targeting young people and teenagers in Croom and its wider community. Developments include a new community gym and equipment, new climbing wall, new junior basketball hoops, junior camp equipment, boxing equipment and outdoor gym equipment in the park.The investment is aligned with the National Physical Activity Plan, with a particular emphasis on implementing programmes to promote physical activity and develop programmes to address transitions and drop out from physical activity.center_img TAGSCroomDormant Account FundslimerickLimerick Community Coaching ProgrammeLimerick Sports PartnershipNational Physical Activity Planphysical activitySportSport IrelandYouth Leadership Programme RELATED ARTICLESMORE FROM AUTHOR Twitter Previous articleCastleconnell gives added depth to Limerick rowingNext articleLimerick council publishes €158 million draft budget Editor Limerick’s National Camogie League double header to be streamed live NewsCommunityNew funding for Limerick sport and physical activity projectsBy Editor – November 14, 2017 1377 Email Billy Lee names strong Limerick side to take on Wicklow in crucial Division 3 clashlast_img read more

Defending champion is fourth different Wild West Modified Shootout winner

first_imgWild West IMCA Modified Shootout career win number 11 for Jesse Williamson came on Monday night at Cottage Grove Speedway. (Photo by Stephanie Deatherage)By Ben DeatherageCOTTAGE GROVE, Ore. (June 25) – The latest installment of the 2018 Wild West IMCA Modified Shootout ended with the fourth different winner in as many events.Four-time and defending tour champion Jesse Williamson topped Monday’s feature at Cottage Grove Speedway. The $1,000 victory was his tour career 11th and third at Cottage Grove, and came despite the best efforts of challenger Bricen James.The new Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot candidate seized the early lead and took off right from the get-go. Williamson was tracked down and passed on lap 14 by James, who lost the lead to Williamson on the following circuit.Shortly after a lap 21 restart, James made a pass Williamson again and the battled hard the rest of the way. Williamson regained the coveted top spot on lap 26 and held off James at the line for the victory.James was followed across the stripe by John Campos, “B” qualifier Grey Ferrando and Curtis Towns was fifth. Forty entries from five states and Canada necessitated three consolation fea­tures.The Wild West Modified Shootout remains at Cottage Grove Speedway for a second straight night on Tuesday. Racing begins at 6:30 p.m. The track will offer a $10 carload special for grand­stand admittance.Feature results – 1. Jesse Williamson; 2. Bricen James; 3. John Campos; 4. VGrey Ferrando; 5. Curtis Towns; 6. Ethan Dotson; 7. Jake Mayden; 8. Craig Hanson; 9. Brian Wulfenstein; 10. Dustin Cady; 11. Ron Wilson; 12. Jeff Faulkner; 13. Steven Sturdevant; 14. Dave Duste Jr.; 15. Preston Luckman; 16. Danny Lauer; 17. Evan Britton; 18. Mark Wauge; 19. Collen Winebarger; 20. Aaron Sheelar; 21. D.J. Shannon; 22. Kevin Williamsonlast_img read more